Skip to main content

12 Steers earn football honors

December 14, 2010

Devante Lloyd was one of four Steers to earn first team all-district honors for football.

The District 5-3A honors for football were announced Monday with Brownwood being the last team knocked out of the playoffs.
The Big Spring Steers had 12 players earn honors, four of them on first team all-district.

Receiver Mike Menefield, offensive lineman Jackson Watkins, defensive end Devante Lloyd and safety Dennis Merworth earned first team
all-district honors. Merworth also earned a nod for honorable mention at receiver.

On the second team, quarterback DaVonte Anderson, fullback Dayvion Young, offensive linemen Jacob Wylie, Jonathan Molina and Tanner Henry made the list for the offense. Defensive end Pernell Parker and Menefield at safety were the only Steers to make the second team for defense.

Honorable mention honors for defense went to linebackers Max Pappajohn and Seth Pearson and Anderson at safety. Pappajohn was the only underclassman to earn all-district honors for the Steers.
Brownwood, which got all the way to the semifinals, had 10 players on first team offense, 10 on first team defense, one on second team offense and two on second team defense. The District MVP was Brownwood wideout and University of Texas recruit Jaxon Shipley.
Brownwood’s Jorge Delapaz won Defensive MVP, Snyder’s standout quarterback Keenon Ward was the Offensive MVP, Snyder’s Brandon Davis was the top offensive newcomer and Abilene Wylie’s Garrett Martin was the top defensive newcomer.

The Steers’ season ended short of the playoffs when they took a loss to Snyder at home in the last game of the season.

View more articles in:
The Coahoma Bulldogs might want to petition AT&T for a sponsorship package after their...
It probably wouldn’t surprise anyone if the Grape Creek Lady Eagles had decided to purchase Kasey...
It is probably pretty safe to say Tobyn Tannehill, Kei-Shawn Broussard and Ty Sealy won’t be...
Come See Us At Our New Location! 1001 E. FM 700, Suite C (432)714-4555


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes