2 file for seats on city council here

Two new candidates have tossed their hats into the ring in Big Spring for the municipal election set for May 12, as political hopefuls have filed to run in Districts 2 and 4.In the race for the District 2 seat, local resident Carmen Moreno Harbour filed late Thursday afternoon to have her name placed on the ballot. The District 2 seat is currently held by incumbent Manuel Ramirez Jr., who has not yet filed to run for re-election.The race for the District 4 seat on the council is beginning to heat up, as local resident Loretta Farquhar filed to have her name placed on the May ballot. The District 4 seat is currently held by longtime councilwoman and incumbent Gloria McDonald, who has not yet filed to run for re-election.Marvin Boyd, owner of Boyd's Auto Glass, filed earlier this month to run for the District 6 seat on the council. The seat is currently held by first-term councilman Terry Hansen, who has not yet filed to run for re-election.According to city officials, the deadline to file to run for any of the three seats is 5 p.m. March 5. Political hopefuls have until that time to file their campaign treasurer designation form and application for placement on the May 12 ballot.In the city of Stanton, municipal and election officials are gearing up for a busy election, as the city looks to fill several seats on its council.The mayoral seat will be up for grabs in May, as incumbent Justin Burch looks to win his first full term in the office. Burch has served approximately a year as mayor, stepping in for former mayor Tommy Haislip, who vacated the office to move to Houston in 2011.At this time, Burch is the only candidate running for the seat.The at-large seat on the council โ€” vacated by Burch when he became mayor โ€” is also up for election. The lone candidate currently running for that seat is incumbent Danny Fryar, who has served in the capacity since assuming duties in 2011.The District 1 seat on the council, currently held by Ronnie Christian, has yet to draw a candidate โ€” including Christian.The District 2 seat, currently held by incumbent Michelle Kidd, has also failed to draw a candidate at this time.Finally, the District 3 seat on the council, currently held by James Jenkins, has also failed to draw a candidate.The city of Coahoma has three seats up for grabs this May; however, information regarding candidate filings was not available this morning.The seats up for election in the Coahoma races include those currently held by Linda Luce, Paulette Lindsey and Zach Johnson.Political hopefuls in Coahoma also have until 5 p.m. March 5 to file their candidacy for the May 12 election.Early voting in this year's municipal elections is slated to begin April 30 and end May 8, according to local election officials.