Skip to main content

Buffs, Bulldogs highlight 3-2A all-district team

May 18, 2011

FORSAN — Brothers Foster and Trevor Burchett led a parade of eight Buffaloes who were named to the All-District 3-2A baseball team.

Foster, a junior, was named the district's defensive player of the year, while Trevor, a sophomore, was selected the league's newcomer of the year.

Joining the Burchetts on the all-district first team are senior pitcher Dylan Lowery, junior first baseman Patrick Robles and senior catcher Zane Herrin.

Second-team all-district selections for Forsan included junior pitcher Payton Parker, junior third baseman Bryson Phillips and junior outfielder Elgin Suazo.

The Buffaloes finished the season in third place in District 3-2A and advanced to the area round of the playoffs before losing to Bushland.

Six members of Coahoma High School's baseball team also received all-district recognition.

Named to the first team from Coahoma were third baseman Casey Roberts and outfielder Pete Acosta, both seniors. Sophomore pitcher Kaleb McAdams, senior catcher Adrian Grant, senior infielder Dakota Griffith and sophomore outfielder Tanner Ruiz were second-team selections for the Bulldogs, who finished the season fourth in District 3-2A.

All-District 3-2A Baseball Team

Player of the Year — Dilan Chancellor, Slaton
Pitcher of the Year — Caden Whitley, Roosevelt
Newcomer of the Year — Trevor Burchett, Forsan
Offensive Player of the Year — Jody Anderson, Roosevelt
Defensive Player of the Year — Trevor Burchett, Forsan

First team
Pitchers — Dylan Lowery, Forsan, Jason Rodriquez, Colorado City, Jace Jones, Slaton.
Catchers — Zane Herrin, Forsan, Joe Torres, Roosevelt.
First basemen — Patrick Robles, Forsan, Jason Rudd, Slaton.
Middle infielders — Ernie Saldivar, Post, Ty Campbell, Slaton, Nick Reyna, Colorado City, Alberto Alarcon, Denver City.
Third baseman — Casey Roberts, Coahoma, Cody Tadlock, Denver City.
Outfielders — Pete Acosta, Coahoma, Dalton Holly, Post, Curtis Sanchez, Roosevelt, Brandon Stephenson, Slaton.
Designated hitter — Jake Johnson, Colorado City.
Utility player — Matthew Fennimore, Slaton.

Second team
Pitchers — Kaleb McAdams, Coahoma, Payton Parker, Forsan, Ryan Chumley, Roosevelt.
Catchers — Adrian Grant, Coahoma, Aaron Macy, Post.
First baseman — Aaron Gibson, Roosevelt, Jacob Perez, Post.
Middle infielders — Dakota Griffith, Coahoma, Vance Blair, Post, Jeremy Garcia, Roosevelt, Mason Milligan, Denver City.
Third basemen — Bryson Phillips, Forsan, Kevin Heinrich, Slaton.
Outfielders — Tanner Ruiz, Coahoma, Elgin Suazo, Forsan, Andy Torres, Slaton, Jarrod Warnock, Roosevelt.
Designated hitter — Edgar Gonzalez, Denver City.
Utility player — Jorge Hernandez, Slaton.

View more articles in:
Are you ready for some football? High school football, that is? After weeks of practices and...
The varsity squad lost in straight sets to the Lady Tigers. For detailed recap of the game, pick up...
Texas kicker nails an 80-yard field goal
Just in time for Easter, try out these 12 easy and fun crafts with your kids. From bunny ears to almond wreaths, it's...
NEW LISTINGS 901 Runnels 2606 E.24th 2602 Coronado


Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes