Skip to main content

Castillo leads BSHS all-district contingent

May 17, 2011

Big Spring’s Angelina Castillo, shown catching a pop-up in action earlier this year, was named Defensive Most Valuable Player of the All-District 5-3A Softball Team in a vote of league coaches. (File photo)

Angelina Castillo headlines a group of seven Big Spring Lady Steers who were named to the All-District 5-3A Softball Team.

Castillo, a sophomore catcher for the Lady Steers, was named Defensive Most Valuable Player of the all-district team, which was selected by a vote of the league coaches.

Sydney Laws of Brownwood was named district MVP, while her teammate, Sydnie Darden, was selected as the league's offensive MVP.

Two Lady Steers were named to the all-district first team — junior first baseman Mackenzie Stone and sophomore outfielder Hailey Dimidjian.

Valerie Ross, one of only three seniors on this year's BSHS squad, was named to the all-district second team as a pitcher, as was sophomore shortstop Logan Yarbar.

Rounding out Big Spring's all-district contingent were senior third baseman Jillian Valle and sophomore utility player Ayanna Gomez, who received honorable mention recognition.

The Lady Steers finished third in District 5-3A this season and were defeated by Iowa Park in the first round of the state playoffs.

District 5-3A All-District Softball Team

MVP: Sydney Laws, Brownwood
Newcomer of the Year: Adrianna Hernandez, Snyder
Offensive MVP: Sydnie Darden, Brownwood
Co-Offensive MVP: Makenley Lunsford, Wylie
Defensive MVP: Angelina Castillo, Big Spring

First team pitcher: Taylor McKoy, Sweetwater
Second team Pitcher: Valerie Ross, Big Spring
First team catcher: Cassie Cummings, Wylie
Second team catcher: Amanda Luecke, Snyder

First team Infield
Nat Delatorre, Brownwood
Larisa Salazar, Brownwood
Ashtin Hand - Snyder
Mackenzie Stone, Big Spring
Alicia Finn, Sweetwater
Chelsea Contreras, Wylie

First Team Outfield
Kate Atchley, Brownwood
Maitlyn Yarbrough, Wylie
Hailey Dimidjian, Big Spring
Lucero Espinoza, Snyder
Kendra Crosson, Sweetwater

Second Team Infield
Suede Shirley, Sweetwater
Chicken Browning, Sweetwater
Mallorie Maxwell, Brownwood
Brianna West, Wylie
Heather Medrano, Snyder
Logan Yarbar, Big Spring
Taylor Garcia, Snyder

Second Team Outfield
Kelsi Crosson, Sweetwater
Cherita George, Brownwood
Alyson Finnigan, Brownwood
Melyssa Lunsford, Wylie

Honorable Mention
Ashley Vaccaro, Brownwood
Madison Guzman, Snyder
Emily Fitzhugh, Wylie
Morgan Runge, Sweetwater
Ayanna Gomez, Big Spring
Jillian Valle, Big Spring

View more articles in:
The Coahoma Bulldogs might want to petition AT&T for a sponsorship package after their...
It probably wouldn’t surprise anyone if the Grape Creek Lady Eagles had decided to purchase Kasey...
It is probably pretty safe to say Tobyn Tannehill, Kei-Shawn Broussard and Ty Sealy won’t be...
Come See Us At Our New Location! 1001 E. FM 700, Suite C (432)714-4555


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes