Skip to main content

Coahoma, Stanton, Forsan rake in honors

December 21, 2010

Tyler Fulton was named first team quarterback, representing the Stanton Buffaloes on the all-district list for 2-2A.

Coahoma quarterback Tanner Ruiz and Stanton linebacker Grayson Gray won District 2-2A Offensive and Defensive MVP honors with the all-district selections being announced this week.

The Coahoma Bulldogs, including Ruiz, had 12 players earn honors.
Dakota Griffith was named first team running back, Hunter Williams was named first team tight end and Josh Castilaw, off his all-state selection, was named first team center.

Justin Coker nabbed second team fullback and Sheigh Cravens was second team receiver. Jacob Echavarria made the second team as an offensive lineman.

On the defensive side of the ball, Jason Martinez and Skyler Coates made the first team as linebackers. Braden Iden made it at defensive end. Pete Acosta, also an all-state selection, made the first team as defensive back. Brent Wright made the second team as a defensive end and Sheigh Cravens and Dakota Griffith are on the second team as defensive backs. Griffith also grabbed second team kicker.

Stanton was well-represented on the list. Including Gray, the Buffs had 12 players earn honors, too.

The dependable Tyler Fulton made the first team at quarterback, standout running back Blake Evans and receiver Thomas Ramos, tight end Ryan Brantley and Gray and Cody Holt also made the first team.

Running back Andres Chavez, receiver Adam Montez, offensive linemen
Dillon Kennedy and Jorge Reyna, Evans as a linebacker, Kennedy as a defensive lineman, Reyna as a defensive end made the first team as defensive players.

Rene Padron, Andrew Chapa, Brantley as a defensive end and Ramos and Montez as defensive backs made the second team. Ramos also was first team kicker.

Wideout Kolten Self was the only first team selection for the Forsan Buffaloes. Ty Johnson made the second team as a running back.
Linebacker Patrick Robles and defensive lineman Copeland Riddell made the second team.

Idalou’s Nick Gary, who led the Wildcats to a state championship this season, was named District MVP. Idalou’s Matthew Sales and Bryce Schilling earned Newcomer of the Year and Utility Player of the Year, respectively. Idalou head coach Johnny Taylor was named Coach of the Year.

Coahoma and Stanton made the playoffs this season and while Forsan didn’t, the Buffs got two wins in district play in 2A after getting none in Class A last season.

View more articles in:
Are you ready for some football? High school football, that is? After weeks of practices and...
The varsity squad lost in straight sets to the Lady Tigers. For detailed recap of the game, pick up...
Texas kicker nails an 80-yard field goal
Just in time for Easter, try out these 12 easy and fun crafts with your kids. From bunny ears to almond wreaths, it's...
NEW LISTINGS 901 Runnels 2606 E.24th 2602 Coronado


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes