Forsan Cross Country — District champ again

LUBBOCK — Forsan brought home its sixth straight district championship after edging No. 2 Sundown Wednesday at Mae Simmons Park.Jeremy Cervantes led the Buffaloes — as well as the entire field — with a first place finish. Tyler Evans came in second overall and Matthew Mims placed third as Forsan runners populated the top spots. Justin Goff also turned in a top 10 performance, finishing ninth. Cody Tanis earned a 15th place finish and Joshua Evans and Granger Newton claimed 18th and 20th, respectively, giving FHS a point total of 27 to rival Sundown's 34.“We're thankful God saw fit to bless us with another district championship,” said Cross Country Coach Robert Hillger. “Our guys seem very focused on a bigger goal, though. They were quick to put it into perspective and get set on the next goal — our third consecutive regional championship. We took a good step in the right direction Wednesday.” In junior varsity action, John Broughton earned a ninth place finish and Zach Martino-Corum nabbed tenth. Bryce Gartman was right behind them in 12th place.The junior high runners were also strong at district, as the younger Buffs came in second as a team, with four competitors finishing in the top 10. Nathan Vidal led the way with a fifth place run.“I can't say enough about what an amazing group of young men they are,” Hillger said of his junior high participants. “They have a bright future in our program.”The regional meet will held Nov. 2, also at Mae Simmons Park.“I have to say thank you to Coach Lindsey Schmidt and the countless parents and fans for their continued support of Forsan cross country,” Hillger added.Individual resultsVarsity: Jeremy Cervantes, 1, 16:18.50; Tyler Evans, 2, 16:50; Matthew Mims, 3, 17:04; Justin Goff, 9, 17:52; Cody Tanis, 15, 18:56; Joshua Evans, 18, 20:11; Granger Newton, 20, 20:23.Junior Varsity: John Broughton, 9, 22:11; Zach Martino-Corum, 10, 22:26; Bryce Gartman, 12, 23:41.Junior High: Nathan Vidal, 5, 12:07; Bryce Hergert, 7, 12:14; Garrett Evans, 9, 12:31; Robert Stevenson, 10, 12:36; Kolby Watson, 14, 12:50; Zach Bailey, 29, 14:37; Andy Kirkland, 34, 15:22; Kobe Richardson, 35, 15:25; Jordan Enriquez, 36, 15:27.