Skip to main content

Light voter turnout expected for runoff

July 30, 2012

A light turnout is expected when Howard County voters go to the polls Tuesday to cast their ballots in the state primary runoff election.
Five statewide contests — four Republican and one Democratic — will be decided.
Locally, only one polling place will be open Tuesday. Voters can cast ballots at Dorothy Garrett Coliseum on the Howard College campus between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., officials said.
Despite a late surge, early voting in the races was extremely light, with fewer than 4 percent of registered voters casting ballots, County Election Administrator Saundra Bloom said.
Bloom said 591 early votes were cast for the runoff — 545 in the Republican contest and 46 in the lone Democratic race. That total accounts for 3.56 percent of the registered voters in the county.
The Democratic ballot's lone contest is to determine the party's nominee in this fall's U.S. senator election, as voters will decide between Paul Sadler and Grady Yarbrough.
Four Republican nominees will be selected:
• In the U.S. Senate race, voters will decide between Ted Cruz and David Dewhurst.
• Warren Chisum and Christi Craddick are vying for the nomination for a spot on the state railroad commission.
• Greg Parker and Barry Smitherman are seeking the nod to fill an unexpired term on the railroad commission.
• The GOP nod for the State Supreme Court, Place 4 seat will be decided between David Medina and John Devine.
For more information, contact Bloom's office at 264-2273.

With the Big Spring Steers sitting 24 points out of first place at the halfway point of the 2015...
The Grady Wildcats are are headed to the championship game at the Class A boys’ state basketball...
High school track and field action will take center stage this afternoon as the 2015 Big Spring...
New Listings!! 3807 E. HWY. 350 2600 BIRDWELL Lane
NEW LISTINGS 901 Runnels 2606 E.24th 2602 Coronado
Disney releases the new song, “Make Today the Perfect Day,” from the "Frozen Fever" short film.


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes