BSHS basketball players earn all-district honors

A quartet of Big Spring High School basketball players received first team recognition on the All-District 5-3A team which was announced this week.Seniors Cerbi Ritchey and Bridgette Tuitt were named to the girls first team, while senior Marc Segundo and junior Chazzell Robertson were named to the boys first team.Ritchey and Tuitt were mainstays on a BSHS squad that finished third in District 5-3A and advanced to the second round of the state playoffs.“Cerbi was probably the best post player in the district,” Big Spring Coach Mike Warren said. “She averaged a double-double for us this year — 11 points a game and 11 rebounds a game. She had a great season.“With Bridgette, it was probably her defense that got her on the (all-district) team,” Warren said. “Defense was definitely her strength. We'd always put her on the other team's best player … and she did a great job for us this season.”Making the girls all-district squad as a second-team selection was senior guard Ambra Hill.Warren said Hill, a transfer from Forsan High School, did a good job adapting to a new program this season.“The team really accepted her, and she just jumped in there and did a great job,” Warren said. “Offense was her strength. If people played a zone defense against us, we'd rely on her and McKenzie (Stone) to hit from the outside for us.”Peyton Little of Class 3A state champion Abilene Wylie, who was named most valuable player at last weekend's Class 3A girls state basketball tournament, was named the district MVP as well, while Patricia Wilson of Brownwood was named defensive MVP and Kandyce Freeman of Snyder was named newcomer of the year.Segundo and Robertson were a 1-2 scoring punch for the Steers, who finished third in district and advanced to the first round of the state basketball playoffs. Segundo was Big Spring's main outside scoring threat, while Robertson shined in the paint.Junior guard Ty'ral Menefield was selected to the boys all-district second team, while guards Tavaris Walker, Tyler Graves and Richard Lewis were honorable mention selections.Abilene Wylie's Mike Lopez was named boys all-district MVP, while Marqous Barnes was selected defensive MVP and Sweetwater's Kaleb Hoover was the district's newcomer of the year.Russell Perkins of Wylie was named boys coach of the year.All District Girls Basketball District 5-3AMVP — Peyton Little (Senior, Wylie)Defensive MVP — Patricia Wilson (Senior, Brownwood)Newcomer — Kandyce Freeman (Freshman, Snyder)First TeamSara Byrd (Senior, Brownwood)Bridgette Tuitt (Senior, Big Spring)Cerbi Ritchey (Senior, Big Spring)Hailey Brown (Junior, Wylie)Kylie Jenkins (Junior, Wylie)Alicia Finn (Senior, Sweetwater)Sydnie Darden (Senior, Brownwood)Punkin Mack (Sophomore, Wylie)Jentri Driggers (Senior, Snyder)Second TeamKeeta Vaccaro (Sophomore, Brownwood)Zoi Malone (Senior, Snyder)Bailey Turner (Sophomore, Wylie)Brittany McPherson (Junior, Wylie)Kendra Crosson (Junior, Sweetwater)Ambra Hill (Senior, Big Spring)All District Boys BasketballDistrict 5-3AMVP — Mike Lopez (Sophomore, Wylie)Defensive MVP — Marqous Barnes (Senior, Brownwood)Newcoming of the Year — Kaleb Hoover (Sophomore, Sweetwater)Coach of the Year — Russell Perkins, WylieFirst TeamDuane Hopper (Junior, Wylie)DeAndre Key (Junior, Wylie)Bryson Fowlkes (Senior, Wylie)Bryant McDaniel (Junior, Brownwood)Bryce Vickers (Junior, Brownwood)Marc Segundo (Senior, Big Spring)Chazzell Robertson (Junior, Big Spring)Robbie Rinehart (Senior, Snyder)Second TeamPatrick Walker (Junior, Wylie)Tyler Hicks (Junior, Wylie)Ty’Ral Menefield (Junior, Big Spring)Kaimon Ontiveros (Sophomore, Brownwood)Derrick Johnson (Senior, Brownwood)Malik Davis (Sophomore, Snyder)Taylor Jones (Senior, Sweetwater)BSHS Honorable Mention Selections Tavaris Walker (Sophomore)Tyler Graves (Junior)Richard Lewis (Senior)