Filing wraps up, for now, in Crossroads area

As state representatives and attorneys continue to bicker over redistricting in the Lone Star State, it's business as usual for for elections officials in the Crossroads area, as seats in Martin and Glasscock counties get ready to go up for grabs in this year's political party primaries.Martin County will see at least two contested races come April 3 — the newly appointed date for the primaries, according to state officials — as the Precinct 1 and Precinct 3 seats on the county commissioners court have garnered a great deal of attention.Precinct 1 incumbent Sonny Garza has filed to run for re-election on the Republican ticket, according to Martin County Elections Administrator Helen Castro.Garza has drawn a pair of challengers — also on the GOP ticket — already, as Mark Briseno and Kenny Stewart will try to unseat the incumbent commissioner.Precinct 3 incumbent Bobby Holland has also filed to run for re-election on the Republican card, drawing a lone challenger at this time in Martin County resident Jody Yates, who is also running as a GOP candidate.Martin County Sheriff John Woodward also filed to run for re-election for his position. Woodward has yet to draw a challenger at this time.County Attorney James J. Napper and Tax Assessor and Collector Kathy Hull have also filed to run for re-election of their respective positions, with neither drawing an opponent.The unexpired term for the position of district/county clerk — previously held by longtime clerk Susie Graham — who retired from the position in August — will be on the ballot, according to Castro. Martin County resident Sharon Jones has filed to run for the position and is currently unopposed.All incumbent and unopposed candidates are running on the Republican ticket, according to Castro.While Martin County will have at least two contested races when the primaries arrive, Glasscock County may not have to worry about any local contests.According to Glasscock County Clerk Susie Hillger, none of the positions up for grabs have been contested thus far.Precinct 1 Commissioner Jimmy Strube and Precinct 3 Commissioner Gary Jones have both filed to run for re-election — both on the Republican ticket — with no challengers yet filed, according to Hillger.Tax Assessor Nancy Hillger, Sheriff Keith Burnett and Constable Mark Frysak have also filed to run for re-election, all unopposed at this time.Another chance to file to run in the political party primaries is expected to be set by the state sometime in the coming month, depending on the outcome of the ongoing trial regarding the redistricting of state lines.For more information on Martin County elections, contact Castro at 432-607-3580. For more information on Glassock County elections, contact Hillger at 432-354-2371.