Lady Steers win district track title

By BRIAN MCCORMACK Sports EditorABILENE — The Big Spring High School Lady Steers won the District 5-3A Championship Friday, racking up 197 points to Wylie’s 180, ending the Lady Bulldogs 20-year stranglehold on district titles.Bridgett Tuitt led BSHS by winning five gold medals and setting a school record with a time of 24.2 in the 200 meter. Ambra Hill also left her mark in the record book with a time of 47.54 in the 300 meter hurdles.Capping a solid season with a first place finish in district is exactly what Head Coach Nick Roberson was aiming for. Though his plan wasn’t to unseat Wylie, it did add some drama, making the win that much more rewarding.“It was great to win,” he said. “I am very proud of the team’s performance. It was a sweet victory.”Last year the girls went to the state championship and lost by a mere two points. This year, the BSHS seniors — as well as Roberson — are determined to move beyond runners-up and bring home the coveted state championship trophy.For now, however, Roberson is simply focused on a strong performance at regionals.“The goal is to get better times and better jumps” Roberson said. “We’re not going to overlook regionals. We won it last year and the goal is to repeat. We have to take care of business.”The regional track meet willbe held at Texas Tech University in Lubbock on April 27-28.Big Spring results from the district finale are as follows:Team Standings — Big Spring: 197; Wylie: 180; Brownwood: 170; Snyder: 33; Sweetwater: 26.3,200 — Karina Alvarado, second place, 13:22.43.High Jump — Yaneira Tuitt, second place, 5-0; Morgan Seaton, fourth place, 4-8.Triple Jump — Bridgette Tuitt, first place, 36-5; Morgan Seaton, fourth place, 4-8.Long Jump — Bridgette Tuitt, first place, 18-9 ¾; Donisha McGee, third place, 16-8.Pole Vault — Jodi Jones, third place 10-0.Discus — Cerbi Ritchie, second place, 116-2; Diamond Mayes, sixth place, 89-11.400 Relay — Big Spring, first place, 48.18.800 — Erin Pollard, second place, 2:37.32; Jaycee Williams, fourth place, 2:37.63; Morgan Seaton, sixth place, 2:44.01.100 Hurdles — Ambra Hill, second place, 15.15; Hayley Dimidjian, 16.36.100 — Danisha McGee, third place, 12.41; Autumn Minter,fourth place, 12.53; Yaneira Tuitt, fifth place, 12.63.800 Relay — Big Spring, first place, 1:42.56.400 — Andrea Deleon, first place, 1:02.08; Erin Pollard, third place, 1:03.75.300 Hurdles — Ambra Hill, third place, 47.54.200 — Bridgette Tuitt, first place, 24.2; April Turner, third place, 25.45; Darshay Vanderbilt, fourth place, 25.62.1,600 — Karina Alvarado, fifth place, 6:09.51.1,600 Relay — Big Spring, third place, 4:22.08.