Numbers down, quality up at science fair

The quantity of entries may have been down, but the quality was as high as ever at the Big Spring Independent School District Science Fair Friday, officials said.For various reasons, fewer entries were received this year, said Darrell Ryan, coordinator of the event.“Because of scheduling changes at the junior high, we had fewer students participate,” Ryan said. “And the high school sponsor is fighting an illness, so we didn't have any entries from there to judge (Friday).”But a decrease in numbers didn't take away from the quality of the entries, Ryan added.“The quality was good. We're happy with what we saw,” he said. “The kids who entered the fair put a lot of time and effort into their projects and we had a lot of good entries. They seemed to be a little more creative this year.”Students who earned a first, second or third division rating in their respective categories will advance to the regional science fair at University of Texas-Permian Basin March 3. Top finishers there qualify for the state science fair in San Antonio later this year.High school entries will be judged at a later date, Ryan said.Following is a list of winners from this year's BSISD Science Fair:Junior Division• Kids College Tuition Scholarship to the Outstanding Entry of each elementary campus (each received a $50 gift card to Wal-Mart from Alon USA)• Goliad Elementary — Bianca Luna.• Moss Elementary — Bianca Villalobos.• Marcy Elementary — Calleigh Ayala.• Washington Elementary — Kadence Orbison.Intermediate Division • $100 scholarships for the two outstanding project winners — Chole Bustamante and Haley Jenkins.Category winners• Animal Science — Brittany Tan, first division.• Behavioral Science — Haley Jenkins, first division; Ranen Wilson, third division.• Biochemistry — Chloe Bustamante, first division.• Chemistry — Brandki Villa, first division; Mariah Brehm, second division; Seth Hamby, third division• Math — Trinaday Joslin, first division.• Microbiology — Justin Rider, first division.• Physics — Dylan Claude and Charlie Cerrea; Oscar Alvarado, second division; Nathan Letz.Outstanding fair entry — Chloe Bustamante.