Saldivar: School trustees play vital role

Consider the school board member — he or she is responsible for many vital decisions concerning your child's education, spends who knows how many hours getting up to speed on a labyrinth of local, state and federal regulations and probably at least that long explaining the district's position on issues to parents and other interested observers.By the way, they don't get paid for their trouble, either.Seems like giving them a special month is the least we can do.January is School Board Recognition Month in Texas and was established to honor the more than 7,000 men and women who serve school districts throughout the state.Newly hooded Dr. Steven Saldivar, superintendent of Big Spring Independent School District, said board members are more than deserving of honors for their service.“It’s more important than ever before that the public shows support for public education,” Saldivar said. “Board members face critical challenges in their roles as advocates, and they will continue to stand strong and guard against anything that takes away from our children and undermines our public schools.”Saldivar said the efforts of local board members Irene Rodriguez, Phil Furqueron, Tony Kennedy, Chad Wash, Ken McIntosh, Jeff Brorman and Pat DeAnda often go unnoticed by the general public.“Even though we are making a special effort in January to show appreciation to our board members, we realize their many contributions reflect a year-round commitment,” Saldivar said. “They generously give of themselves to ensure that decisions directly affecting our local schools are made by representatives of this community, people who are close to our schools and know our teachers, parents, and students.”Coahoma ISD Superintendent Amy Jacobs echoed Saldivar's comments when talking about her district's school board members, Brian Moore, Jody Reid, Michael Brooks, Craig Ferguson, Lori Martinez, Patric Robinson and Alan Wright.“We have a great school board and the best thing about them is they never hesitate to put the best interests of the students first,” Jacobs said. “They put in many, many hours and it never ends … They do a great job.”Other area school board members include:• Forsan ISD — Tom Bill Kuykendall,Tim Ballard, Beckie Wash, Glen Graves, Lewis Boecker, Chris Evans and Chris Olson.• Glasscock County ISD — Douglas Schaefer, Nathan Halfmann, Doug Jost, Kevin Hirt, Tibby Niehues, Andy Wheeler and Carl Hoelscher.• Stanton ISD — Darren Patrick, Ramiro Reyes, Daniel Ramos, Reggie Franklin, Marty Graham, Pinky Jones and Jeremy Louder.• Sands CISD — Martin Nichols, Tommy Staggs, Robin Barraza, Michelle Zant, Bill Barnes, Jody Howard and Matt Snell.• Grady ISD — David Matthews, Danny Peugh, Wayne Pinkerton, Tammy Blocker, Kyle McMorries, Rob Fields and Ryan Grant.