Voters oust city council incumbents

Big Spring voters decided a change was in order Saturday as they denied incumbents Marcus Fernandez and Glen Carrigan a second term on the Big Spring City Council.In District 1, newcomer Raul Marquez Jr. defeated Fernandez by a 86-67 margin, while former Economic Development Corp. board president Justin Myers defeated Carrigan by more than 100 votes in the District 3 race.Both Marquez and Myers will be installed on the council when it meets Tuesday.In other races Saturday, incumbents Marie Etheridge, John Freeman, Charles Warren and Adrian Calvio won new terms on the Howard College Board of Trustees, incumbent Irene Galan Rodriguez narrowly defeated challnger T.J. Stewart to earn another term on the Big Spring ISD Board of Trustees and incumbent Lori Martinez and newcomer Kandy Alaman were winners in the race for two spots on the Coahoma ISD school board.